The Beginning, Just Ahead Green Road Sign with Copy Room Over The Dramatic Clouds and Sky.
The Beginning

I was coerced into sharing my ideas in this blog from a good friend. After many conversations about a plethora of subjects, some drunken, she deemed by point of view somewhat interesting. I confess, I have no idea what a blog is. I despise technology, but I am intrigued by it at the same time. I will title my blog, Observations from a Nigga. My country has relegated me to nigga status so I might as well embrace it.

I am a New Jersey transplant who has lived and worked in the DMV (DC, Maryland, Virginia) for quite a while so I consider myself a Washingtonian.

So, here I, or we go.

Losing our History

Losing Ourselves

I am currently employed by the District of Columbia Public Schools. Don’t laugh or feel sorry for me. Throughout the years I have watched this inept organization grow into an almost legitimate educational organization. I was a history teacher with DCPS for over a decade. So what happened? Michelle Rhee came, and in the name of reform destroyed good teachers’ lives. Unfortunately, I got caught in that net, combined with the betrayal of the Washington Teachers’ Union, my life was put in a horrid freefall. So I swallowed my pride and reapplied to a school system that defecated on me. I have a new position called an educational aide, which is less cumbersome than being a classroom teacher. I have the freedom to work one-on-one with students from all grade levels in high school. The money is not plentiful but these days the powers that be want robots at the head of the classroom who exhort a Western European point of view, especially in classrooms of history.

drayden_one-room-school-house-courtesy-of-africanamericancontributionsdotcom
Drayden School House

In my travels through the History Department as an educational aide, I hear students say reprehensible statements like, “voting is a waste of time”, “the hell with Obama”, “he ain’t a real black person”, “Obama didn’t do nothing for black people.” I have no problem with these statements being said, but they are not followed up with intellectual discourse by the teacher. I have witnessed students deny that they are African in any way because they are ashamed to be associated with the great continent. Students have no knowledge of The Constitution, Checks and Balances, or the Three Branches of Government.

Let me get back to having knowledge of self, Black History is not emphasized. The ancient kingdoms of Africa are not examined. I looked through a World History textbook and the Haitian Revolution was not even mentioned.

general_toussaint_louverture
General Toussaint Louverture

The Haitian Revolution, led by Toussaint Louverture, Jean-Jacques Dessalines, and rebel slaves, took place in the former French colony of St. Domingue and lasted from 1791 until 1804. This revolution impacted the institution of slavery throughout the Americas. Self-liberated slaves destroyed slavery at home, fought to preserve their freedom, and founded the sovereign state of Haiti. This was the greatest slave uprising since Spartacus, who led an unsuccessful revolt against the Roman Republic nearly 1,900 years prior.

 

What is the legacy of The Haitian Revolution? It challenged long-held beliefs about blacks’ inferiority and the enslaved person’s capacity to achieve and maintain freedom. The rebels’ organization and tenacity frightened slave-owners across the world. Now much of this information was lifted from the internet, on my part, new-millennium historical investigation.

 

Why would schools keep such a significant event a secret? I will let you come to your own conclusion. This is a miniscule example of historical events being withheld from memory. As a result, African-American children have no foundation of self. Everybody needs a foundation, so our young people grasp for other people’s foundation which creates a confused people, people trying to be something else.

